• 2021 MSV Season Passes
  • MSV Trackdays
  • YoungDrive at Snetterton
Makinen stars again as Collett and Summerfield celebrate truck wins

Sunday, September 10 2017

Frenetic racing on the track and family-themed fun away from the circuit combined for a thrill-packed British Truck Racing Championship raceday at Snetterton today (Sunday).

A blockbuster 14-race schedule included five rounds of the BTRC, with thrills and spills aplenty on the Norfolk track's full 300 layout.

Richard Collett won the opening race of the day for the Division One trucks. Early leader Simon Reid retired early on, and Mat Summerfield went off at Riches whilst challenging Reid. This left Collett clear of an intense battle for the lower podium places. Shane Brereton held second as Stuart Oliver tried to hold title leader Ryan Smith at bay, with David Jenkins also in contention. The order lasted until the final straight, when Smith slipstreamed past Oliver for third place, after Collett had taken his first win since 2015.

BTRC Division One Race Two
1, Richard Collett, MAN, 6 Laps
2, Shane Brereton, MAN, +27.176s
3, Ryan Smith, MAN, +27.529s
4, Stuart Oliver, Volvo, +27.737s
5, David Jenkins, MAN, +28.526s

The second race began with Luke Taylor surging into a comfortable lead from Oly Janes and Michael Oliver. Meanwhile, Terry Gibbon was holding back a gaggle of fast trucks headed by Summerfield, and although the four-time champion passed out of Agostini, Smith was forced to wait until after Hamilton. However Gibbon spun on the run to Oggies, and was collected by Jenkins, Brereton and Collett, bringing out the red flag.

The race was later re-run, and Summerfield surged into an early lead that he would not relinquish. Behind, there was an intense fight for second place involving rivals Oliver and Smith, which was settled in the ten-time champion's favour.

BTRC Division One Race Three
1, Mat Summerfield, MAN, 7 Laps
2, Stuart Oliver, Volvo, +20.483s
3, Ryan Smith, MAN, +20.700s
4, Oly Janes, Buggyra Freightliner, +38.824s
5, Richard Collett, MAN, +40.223s

Mika Makinen added a second victory of the weekend in the opening Division 2 race of the day, having fought way past early leader Tony Smith. Smith was forced to pit soon afterwards, but not before multiple Renault UK Clio Cup champion Paul Rivett had passed for second place on his truck racing debut weekend. He finished just under four seconds adrift of the Finn, who was joined by compatriot Sami Ojanen on the podium.

BTRC Division Two Race Three
1, Mika Makinen, Sisu, 6 Laps
2, Paul Rivett, MAN, +3.700s
3, Sami Ojanen, Iveco Stralis, +18.131s
4, John Bowler, +20.210s
5, Joanne Eason, Boden, 25.031s

Makinen won again in the next encounter, which was run with the Division 1 machines after their second race of the day had been red-flagged. The Finn made a storming start and made short work of his rivals, whilst early race-leader Simon Cole failed to make the distance, and neither did earlier podium-finisher Ojanen.

BTRC Division Two Race Four
1, Mika Makinen, Sisu, 7 Laps
2, Tony Smith, Sisu, +9.155s
3, John Bowler, +32.441s
4, Brad Smith, DAF, +37.151s
5, Luke Garrett, 43.064s

In addition to races for Legends Cars, Pickup Trucks, Caterhams and the debut of the new Renault Clio Junior series, there was a wealth of off-track entertainment. This included Red Dragon Monster Truck rides, a funfair, climbing wall, racing simulators, bouncy castles and a show truck display.

Truck D1D2 (1 Of 1)-9 Truck D1R2 (1 Of 1)-6
Truck D1D2 (1 Of 1)-10 Truck D1D2 (1 Of 1)-4

Next Sunday (17 September), the Vintage Festival returns to Snetterton. Tickets are available in advance for £16 with free entry for under-13s. For more information call 0843 453 9000 or click here.