• YoungDrive at Snetterton
  • MSV Trackdays
Shakey holds off O’Halloran to top opening session at Snetterton

Friday, June 30 2017

Defending champion Shane 'Shakey' Byrne held off the challenge from Jason O'Halloran to top the opening free practice session of the MCE Insurance British Superbike Championship weekend at Snetterton by 0.129s.

O'Halloran arrives at the Norfolk circuit after setting the pace at the recent official test and he got the opening practice underway by heading the top of the times in the early stages. However Byrne is determined to have a winning return and he moved ahead in the closing ten minutes of the session.

Championship leader Luke Mossey fired himself into third position on the leading JG Speedfit Kawasaki as his team-mate Leon Haslam returned from injury and was just pushed outside the top ten into eleventh in the final moments.

It was an impressive start for Billy McConnell on the Quattro Plant FS-3 Kawasaki as the Australian held fourth place, just ahead of fellow countryman Josh Brookes who completed the top five for the Anvil Hire TAG Yamaha team.

John Hopkins was narrowly pushed outside the top six on the Moto Rapido Ducati as he held off Peter Hickman and Dan Linfoot. Jakub Smrz and James Ellison on the McAMS Yamaha completed the top ten.

After being declared fit, the MCE BSB Medical team supervised Christian Iddon's final preparations for FP1 together and concluded with the team that it was evident that his recent deep wound and skin graft was particularly vulnerable to aggravation in racing leathers. Rather than an exploratory first session the team has taken the decision to give the full support and track time to its fully fit riders and give the best chance of a weekend points haul to protect Iddon's championship position and Josh Elliott will replace him alongside Andy Reid.     

MCE Insurance British Superbike Championship, Snetterton, Free Practice one result:

  1. Shane Byrne (Be Wiser Ducati) 1m:48.353s
  2. Jason O'Halloran (Honda Racing) +0.129s
  3. Luke Mossey (JG Speedfit Kawasaki) +0.411s
  4. Billy McConnell (Quattro Plant FS-3 Kawasaki) +0.457s
  5. Josh Brookes (Anvil Hire TAG Yamaha) +0.699s
  6. John Hopkins (Moto Rapido Ducati) +0.866s
  7. Peter Hickman (Smiths Racing BMW) +0.934s
  8. Dan Linfoot (Honda Racing) +1.050s
  9. Jakub Smrz (Lloyd & Jones PR Racing BMW) +1.224s
  10. James Ellison (McAMS Yamaha) +1.331s

Tickets for the MCE Insurance British Superbike Championship at Snetterton are available on the gate. For more information call 0843 453 9000 or click  here.