• YoungDrive at Snetterton
  • MSV Trackdays
Shakey holds off Brookes to do the double at Snetterton

Sunday, July 02 2017

Shane 'Shakey' Byrne celebrated his first double win of the season as the defending MCE Insurance British Superbike champion took on arch rival Josh Brookes to claim the second victory of the day at Snetterton.

Brookes had launched off the line at the start to lead the pack into Riches for the first time onboard the Anvil Hire TAG Yamaha ahead of James Ellison and Byrne with Leon Haslam holding fourth place.

John Hopkins and Jason O'Halloran though were moving through the field and the pair were soon on the back of the leading trio of Brookes, Ellison and Byrne. At the front Byrne made a move on Ellison on the ninth lap to close in on his Australian rival, but the McAMS Yamaha wasn't going to settle behind the five-time champion. However as Ellison bid for podium contention, he crashed out unhurt at Murrays.

At the front Byrne was closing on Brookes and on lap 14 the Be Wiser Ducati rider pushed ahead on the run down to Riches, which Jason O'Halloran repeated on John Hopkins as the pair exchanged blows in the battle for third position.

Byrne was able to hold off the counter attack from Brookes to the finish to claim his first double win of the season with O'Halloran completing the first double podium for the Honda Racing team as Hopkins dropped to fifth when Jake Dixon made a last corner move on the final lap.

Peter Hickman claimed sixth place which fired him into the Showdown six in the standings ahead of Dan Linfoot and Leon Haslam. Sylvain Guintoli and Luke Mossey completed the top ten, with the JG Speedfit Kawasaki rider still holding the advantage at the top of the standings ahead of Brands Hatch.

MCE Insurance British Superbike Championship, Snetterton, Race two result:

  1. Shane Byrne (Be Wiser Ducati)
  2. Josh Brookes (Anvil Hire TAG Yamaha) +0.686s
  3. Jason O'Halloran (Honda Racing) +7.701s
  4. Jake Dixon (RAF Reserves Kawasaki) +8.261s
  5. John Hopkins (Moto Rapido Ducati) +8.544s
  6. Peter Hickman (Smiths Racing BMW) +13.576s
  7. Dan Linfoot (Honda Racing) +13.615s
  8. Leon Haslam (JG Speedfit Kawasaki) +17.625s
  9. Sylvain Guintoli (Bennetts Suzuki) +20.022s
  10. Luke Mossey (JG Speedfit Kawasaki) +23.088s

MCE Insurance British Superbike Championship standings after Snetterton:

  1. Luke Mossey (JG Speedfit Kawasaki) 147
  2. Shane Byrne (Be Wiser Ducati) 140
  3. Leon Haslam (JG Speedfit Kawasaki) 132
  4. Josh Brookes (Anvil Hire TAG Yamaha) 118
  5. Jason O'Halloran (Honda Racing) 115
  6. Peter Hickman (Smiths Racing BMW) 93