• YoungDrive at Snetterton
  • MSV Trackdays
Haslam back to winning ways as he claims Cadwell Park victory

Sunday, August 20 2017

Leon Haslam returned to the top step of the podium for the first time since Oulton Park as the JG Speedfit Kawasaki rider delivered an inch perfect performance to hold off a chasing freight train of eight riders.

As the race got underway Haslam hit the front of the pack as he jostled for position with pole sitter Shane 'Shakey' Byrne for the initial advantage. The race was short lived for Honda Racing's Dan Linfoot as he got caught up in the mid pack and consequently crashed out unhurt.

Byrne was attacking however a spectacular moment on the exit of Mansfield saw the defending champion save a crash, but he was onto the grass and dropped back down the order and had to regroup.

Jake Dixon then hit the front of the field as the RAF Reserves Kawasaki rider lunged ahead on the fourth lap, but Haslam was attacking back as he bid to regain the position, meanwhile Byrne had sliced back through the pack into third place by the ninth lap.

A lap later and Haslam was back into the lead, despite Dixon piling on the pressure he managed to hold off the Knockhill double race winner to claim his fourth win of the season with Dixon and Byrne completing the podium.

Peter Hickman fought his way back into fourth place after he had also dropped down the order as he took evasive action when Byrne had his moment; he got the better of Honda Racing's Jason O'Halloran and Lee Jackson to claim fourth.

 Michael Laverty had his best performance of the season so far in seventh, holding off Christian Iddon and Tommy Bridewell, who scored his best result of the year for Team WD-40 Kawasaki. James Ellison rounded out the top ten.

MCE Insurance British Superbike Championship, Cadwell Park, Race one result:

  1. Leon Haslam (JG Speedfit Kawasaki)
  2. Jake Dixon (RAF Reserves Kawasaki) +0.131s
  3. Shane Byrne (Be Wiser Ducati) +0.404s
  4. Peter Hickman (Smiths Racing BMW) +0.689s
  5. Jason O'Halloran (Honda Racing) +1.106s
  6. Lee Jackson (Smiths Racing BMW) +1.224s
  7. Michael Laverty (McAMS Yamaha) +4.247s
  8. Christian Iddon (Tyco BMW) +4.311s
  9. Tommy Bridewell (Team WD-40 Kawasaki) +4.502s
  10. James Ellison (McAMS Yamaha) +4.754s

MCE Insurance British Superbike Championship standings after Cadwell Park:

  1. Shane Byrne (Be Wiser Ducati) 219
  2. Leon Haslam (JG Speedfit Kawasaki) 209
  3. Peter Hickman (Smiths Racing BMW) 177
  4. Jason O'Halloran (Honda Racing) 165
  5. Luke Mossey (JG Speedfit Kawasaki) 161
  6. Josh Brookes (Anvil Hire TAG Yamaha) 158