• 2020 MSV Season Passes
  • YoungDrive at Snetterton
  • MSV Trackdays
Ryan Smith defeats title rival Stuart Oliver in third truck race

Sunday, September 11 2016

Ryan Smith took his second victory of the weekend at Snetterton today (Sunday), winning the third British Truck Racing Championship race at a canter from title rival Stuart Oliver.

With a near-front-of-grid position, Smith took full advantage and led Steven Powell in Division 1, whilst Powell's brother John headed the Division 2 pack on the opening lap.

Oliver moved up to second early on, and gave chase to the leader, with vital championship points at stake. Mat Summerfield and Steve Thomas squabbled for the right to be the first to attack Powell's third-place machine, and they brought the rest of the pack into play for an entertaining dice in front of the infield crowd.

The fight for fourth continued into the next lap as Thomas grabbed the place out of Agostini and an out-of-place Summerfield just managed to hold off David Jenkins and Simon Reid. Thomas took third on the following lap at the same corner, whilst behind him there was an epic fight between Jenkins and Summerfield, running side-by-side on the Senna Straight and through Riches. This ended when the reigning champion dropped down the order at Oggies.

At the front, Smith resisted an early attack on his lead from Oliver, and managed to eke out a useful advantage. With second place secure, Oliver elected to take a prudent course and settled for second place. Thomas held third, whilst Jenkins concentrated on demoting Steve Powell in the final laps. He made the pass on the penultimate lap. Behind the pair, Shane Brereton and Reid fought a hard couple of laps, with the former eventually winning out, whilst Summerfield managed to pass Michael Oliver for eighth place.

John Powell took an even more dominant Division 2 victory, but with Adam Bint in second place, was unable to make much of an impression on his rival's title lead.

The fourth truck race of the weekend will take place at 1:15pm, and there's a free VIP-style grid walk open to all from 12:40pm.

British Truck Racing Championship Race Three
1, Ryan Smith, MAN, Div 1, +8 Laps
2, Stuart Oliver, Volvo, Div 1, +5.615s
3, Steven Thomas, MAN, Div 1, +15.469s
4, David Jenkins, MAN, Div 1, +26.587s
5, Steven Powell, MAN, Div 1, +33.394s
6, Simon Reid, Iveco Stralis, Div 1, +34.891s
7, Shane Brereton, MAN, Div 1, +42.383s
8, Mat Summerfield, MAN, Div 1, +53.180s
9, Michael Oliver, Scania, Div 1, +55.613s
10, Oly Janes, Buggyra-Freightliner, Div 1, +55.813s

Tickets for the British Truck Racing Championship at Snetterton on 10/11 September are available for £15 on Saturday and £24 on Sunday, with free entry for under-13s. For more information call 0843 453 9000 or click here.