• 2020 MSV Season Passes
  • YoungDrive at Snetterton
  • MSV Trackdays
Poleman Ryan Smith takes opening Truck win at Snetterton

Saturday, September 10 2016

Ryan Smith held off title rival Stuart Oliver to win the opening British Truck Racing Championship race of the weekend at Snetterton today (Saturday) to stretch his title lead, whilst in Division 2, John Powell made inroads into Adam Bint's championship advantage.

At the rolling start, Smith ran into an immediate lead, with Mat Summerfield defending from the rest of the Division 1 field. Oliver headed this pack and was on the attack straight away. Steve Thomas and Shane Brereton joined the group of trucks disputing second place.

The Division 2 fight was headed by John Powell, but class championship leader Adam Bint was not giving up without a fight and the pair fought along the Senna Straight into lap two. However Powell made up time in the infield section, and Bint had his mirrors full of John Bowler.

Meanwhile Oliver had taken second overall, and soon after, Thomas and Brereton followed as Summerfield slowed, appearing to be in trouble. He was handed a reprieve, however, for Michael Oliver had spun following contact at the Wilson hairpin and, unable to get going, the race was red-flagged.

At the restart, and with no Summerfield to help in second, Smith had one eye on his mirrors as Oliver sat within striking distance, whilst in Division 2, Bint lost several places and stood to lose valuable championship points to rival Powell.

Summerfield held third overall near the front, just ahead of Brereton, but the pair were losing time to the leading two, and attracting the attentions of Thomas. Brereton then had a moment at Agosotini, losing many places, and with the chequered flag produced at the end of the lap, he finished seventh.

Up front, Smith held off Oliver to stretch his title lead a little, the eventual margin of victory just over two seconds. Summerfield completed the overall podium, with Thomas heading Michael Oliver, Simon Reid, Brereton, David Jenkins and Steve Powell.

John Powell finished 12th overall, and Bowler, Paul McCumisky and Brian Burt separated him from title leader Bint, allowing him to make up ground in the championship race. Race two will take place at approx 6:00pm, and is the first reverse-grid encounter of the weekend.

British Truck Racing Championship Race One
1, Ryan Smith, MAN, Div 1, 2 Laps (after restart)
2, Stuart Oliver, Volvo, Div 1, +2.085s
3, Mat Summerfield, MAN, Div 1, +5.794s
4, Steven Thomas, MAN, Div 1, +6.478s
5, Michael Oliver, Scania, Div 1, +13.601s
6, Simon Reid, Iveco Stralis, Div 1, +14.159s
7, Shane Brereton, MAN, Div 1, +15.398s
8, David Jenkins, MAN, Div 1, +18.169s
9, John Powell, Ford, Div 2, +19.247s
10, Luke Garrett, Renault, Div 1, +24.234s

Tickets for the British Truck Racing Championship at Snetterton on 10/11 September are available for £15 on Saturday and £24 on Sunday, with free entry for under-13s. For more information call 0843 453 9000 or click here.