• YoungDrive at Snetterton
  • MSV Trackdays
Linfoot keeps JG Speedfit Kawasaki at bay at Snetterton

Thursday, June 16 2016

Honda Racing's Dan Linfoot held the position at the top of the times in the opening session on the second day of the official MCE Insurance British Superbike Championship test at Snetterton, setting his fastest lap so far in Norfolk to hold off the JG Speedfit Kawasaki trio.

Linfoot had been holding the initial advantage in the session but the JG Speedfit Kawasaki trio were upping the ante to close the gap, with James Ellison moving up the order as he bids for further improvements as he targets his first win of the season at the next round at Knockhill.

Peter Hickman though was fast to move ahead of his team-mate and headed up the Team Green trio with Ellison holding third and narrowly ahead of Leon Haslam who completed the top four. The final minute of the session saw a switch of positions though with a final fast lap coming from Jake Dixon the RAF Reserves/Briggs BMW to move up to fifth on his debut test with the local team.

Billy McConnell was another rider who leapt up the order in the closing stages to hold sixth place for the FS-3 Racing Kawasaki team, pushing Jason O'Halloran back to seventh in a matter of moments on the second Honda Racing Fireblade.

Danny Buchan was the leading Ducati on track in eighth position with the Lloyds British Moto Rapido team, marginally ahead of Tommy Bridewell on the sole Bennetts Suzuki at this test. Alastair Seeley completed the top ten on the second RAF Reserves BMW.

Shane 'Shakey' Byrne had a disappointing end to his session when the four-time champion was left with nowhere to go and crashed out at Murrays in the final seven minutes of the session; the Be Wiser Ducati rider was able to pick the Panigale up and return to the pitlane unhurt.

MCE Insurance British Superbike Championship, Snetterton official test, day two, session one:

  1. Dan Linfoot (Honda Racing) 1m:48.514s
  2. Peter Hickman (JG Speedfit Kawasaki) +0.305s
  3. James Ellison (JG Speedfit Kawasaki) +0.483s
  4. Leon Haslam (JG Speedfit Kawasaki) +0.807s
  5. Jake Dixon (RAF Reserves/Briggs BMW) +0.828s
  6. Billy McConnell (FS-3 Racing Kawasaki) +0.996s
  7. Jason O'Halloran (Honda Racing) +1.315s
  8. Danny Buchan (Lloyds British Moto Rapido Ducati) +1.378s
  9. Tommy Bridewell (Bennetts Suzuki) +1.994s
  10. Alastair Seeley (RAF Reserves BMW) +2.026s