• YoungDrive at Snetterton
  • MSV Trackdays
Haslam becomes fifth different rider to top session at Snetterton

Thursday, June 16 2016

Leon Haslam proved he is getting to grips with the Snetterton 300 circuit as the JG Speedfit Kawasaki rider set the fastest lap time of day two in the latest session in Norfolk, as the Pocket Rocket moved to within 0.175s of Michael Laverty's fastest overall time from yesterday.

The session which ended with the top ten covered by 0.8 got underway with Haslam setting the early benchmark. As the times began to tumble Honda Racing went back to the top with Jason O'Halloran but the Australian's spell at the top was short lived though as Haslam regained the advantage at the top. The Derbyshire rider was able to hold the advantage from the Aussie in the closing stages.

Shane 'Shakey' Byrne bounced back from his crash in the opening session to move third fastest on the Be Wiser Ducati, setting his fastest lap of the test, when the test session was red flagged when Alastair Seeley crashed out unhurt at Riches.

James Ellison had moved up the order to fourth place, becoming the second fastest of the JG Speedfit Kawasakis, fending off Glenn Irwin who leapt up the order to fifth place on the second of the Be Wiser Ducatis.

Bennetts Suzuki's Tommy Bridewell moved to sixth place with improvements during the session to hold the position from Danny Buchan on the Lloyds British Moto Rapido Ducati and the third JG Speedfit Kawasaki of Peter Hickman.

Honda Racing's Dan Linfoot and Billy McConnell completed the top ten, the Australian ending the session with a crash at Brundles, but the FS-3 Racing Kawasaki rider was unhurt.

MCE Insurance British Superbike Championship, Snetterton official test, day two, session two:

  1. Leon Haslam (JG Speedfit Kawasaki) 1m:48.277s
  2. Jason O'Halloran (Honda Racing) +0.107s
  3. Shane Byrne (Be Wiser Ducati) +0.140s
  4. James Ellison (JG Speedfit Kawasaki) +0.356s
  5. Glenn Irwin (Be Wiser Ducati) +0.387s
  6. Tommy Bridewell (Bennetts Suzuki) +0.497s
  7. Danny Buchan (Lloyds British Moto Rapido Ducati) +0.536s
  8. Peter Hickman (JG Speedfit Kawasaki) +0.739s
  9. Dan Linfoot (Honda Racing) +0.838s
  10. Billy McConnell (FS-3 Racing Kawasaki) +0.851s