• 2021 MSV Season Passes
  • MSV Trackdays
  • YoungDrive at Snetterton
BTCC 2016 – the season so far

Wednesday, July 13 2016

This year's Dunlop MSA British Touring Car Championship, which resumes at Snetterton on 30/31 July, has been one of the most open in years, with several different race winners and a title chase that has remained close throughout the first half of the season. The drivers will return from their summer break to compete on the Norfolk venue's 300 layout later this month.

The season got underway with Tom Ingram taking his first BTCC pole position and successfully converting this into his maiden victory. Desperate to repeat this, he robustly defended the lead into Druids in race two from Rob Collard and the pair collided, handing the win to Gordon Shedden. The reigning champion was pitched into the gravel at Paddock Hill with a puncture in the third round, whilst Adam Morgan held off the WSR BMWs of Sam Tordoff and Jack Goff to win.

MG's rookie sensation Ashley Sutton took pole position at Donington, but Mat Jackson came through to kick off Motorbase's title attack in the opening race. Collard took WSR's first victory in the second, whilst Matt Neal did his campaign no harm with the reverse-grid win.

At Thruxton Ingram returned to the top of the table in qualifying, but couldn't take his second victory; instead Morgan became the first repeat winner in a race shortened after Neal's tyre blew, which resulted in a multiple collision on the pit straight. An emotional Andrew Jordan took his first victory in almost two years in the second encounter, before Motorbase team-mate Jackson become the second man to win multiple races in 2016.

The struggling Subaru team came good at Oulton Park, and Colin Turkington claimed pole position and the Levorg's first win, before an excellent start in race two gave Sam Tordoff his debut victory of the season. Neal led a Honda 1-2 in the finale, but a late puncture for Shedden left Tordoff the runner-up after an increasingly fraught battle for second, which propelled him to the top of the championship table.

Subaru was on top again at Croft, with Turkington repeating his Oulton Park pole and race one success. However second-placed Jason Plato tried to take the lead off his team-mate in the second encounter, and the resultant collision handed victory to Collard. The BTCC's first wet race in 20 months ended with a popular victory for Sutton, who battled his MG into contention and hung on to take the flag in style, becoming the tenth different winner so far this year.

At the season's mid-point, Sam Tordoff heads the order, but 12 drivers are within 63 points of the lead, and with 67 on offer at Snetterton, expect plenty of changes after three hard-fought races in Norfolk.

The event also includes a packed support package, with rivalries set to be resumed in the Porsche Carrera Cup GB, Renault UK Clio Cup, Ginetta GT4 Supercup, Ginetta Juniors and British Formula 4. With Snetterton's panoramic spectator banks offering unrivalled views and giant TV screens, you'll miss none of the main raceday Sunday action!

Dunlop MSA British Touring Car Championship title standings after 15 of 30 rounds
1. Sam Tordoff 168pts
2. Robert Collard 156pts
3. Matt Neal 153pts
4. Andrew Jordan 131pts
5. Jack Goff 130pts
6. Tom Ingram 123pts
7. Ashley Sutton 119pts
8. Mat Jackson 117pts
9. Gordon Shedden 116pts
10. Adam Morgan 110pts
11. Colin Turkington 106pts
12. Josh Cook 105pts

Tickets for the BTCC at Snetterton on 30/31 July are available from £27, with free admission for under-13s. For more information call our sales team on 0843 453 9000 or click here.