• 2021 MSV Season Passes
  • MSV Trackdays
  • YoungDrive at Snetterton
Summerfield strikes back in penultimate Truck encounter

Sunday, September 20 2015

Mat Summerfield had the perfect response to his rivals in the penultimate British Truck Racing Championship round of the weekend at Snetterton today (Sunday), returning to the top of the title standings with a win, as Stuart Oliver and David Jenkins collided, dropping both down the order.

The fourth race was preceded by a grid walk, which was open to all spectators. The drivers also took part, signing autographs and chatting to the public before they resumed battle on the track.

When the race got underway, the bonneted trucks of Brian Burt and Adam Bint led the field, with the latter taking an early lead. Further back, Mat Summerfield assumed the head of Division One, with Simon Reid a fair distance ahead of Steve Thomas and Richard Collett, as the more fancied runners planned their attacks.

It didn't take long for Steven Powell to take the lead of the race, a few smart moves on lap one putting him in position to attack, as Luke Garrett also worked his way towards the front. As for the Division One frontrunners, Stuart Oliver, David Jenkins and Ryan Smith were line astern as they set their targets on Collett, who was refusing to let them past without a fair fight. The tension built over a couple of laps before Jenkins spun Oliver round at Hamilton. This didn't lose the latter a great deal of momentum, but he was carrying a fair bit of bodywork damage, and was struggling to get on terms with Collett ahead.

Jenkins attacked Collett at Hamilton on the next lap and got passed, but ran wide at Oggies, and let both Collett and Smith past. However, Smith was now too far behind the fight for second in Division 1, where Thomas was trying to demote Reid, whilst at the front, Summerfield was catching leader Powell as they entered the final lap.

The lead changed hands between Palmer and Agostini on the final tour, whilst a few corners later, Thomas took second place from Reid. Smith also passed Powell to take fourth place overall, with Jenkins finally completing a successful pass on Collett for fifth. Bint held off Garrett for second in Division 2 after a race-long defence, the pair sandwiching eighth-placed Collett. Ray Coleman completed the top ten, just a tenth ahead of the recovering Oliver at the line.

The final British Truck Racing Championship race of the weekend will take place at 4:35pm.

British Truck Racing Championship Race Four
1, Matt Summerfield, Summerfield Trucksport, MAN TGS, Div 1, 7 Laps
2, Steve Thomas, Team Thomas Racing, MAN TGX, Div 1, +3.977s
3, Simon Reid, Reid Trucksport, MAN TGX, +4.658s
4, Ryan Smith, Truck Sport Racing, MAN TGA, Div 1, +5.410s
5, Steven Powell, Foden Alfa, Division 2, +13.923s
6, David Jenkins, Team Digraph, MAN TGX, Div 1, +14.975s
7, Adam Bint, Bint Racing, Volvo White, Division 2, +15.436s
8, Richard Collett, MAN TGX, Div 1, +16.454s
9, Luke Garrett, Ross Garrett Truck Racing, ERF, Division 2, +16.834s
10, Ray Coleman, Lantern, Renault, Div 1, +24.729s

Next Sunday (27 September) Snetterton hosts the Vintage Sports-Car Festival, with pre- and post-war racing and off-track entertainment with a nostalgic theme. Tickets are available online for £15, with free admission for under-13s. For more information call 0843 453 9000 or click here.