• 2021 MSV Season Passes
  • MSV Trackdays
  • YoungDrive at Snetterton
David Jenkins wins second truck race as title rivals suffer

Saturday, September 19 2015

David Jenkins took the second British Truck Racing Championship win of the weekend at Snetterton today (Saturday), clearing his class pack early on to take the overall lead with a couple of laps to spare.

At the start, front-row starter Jim Bennett lost out to Trevor Martin, but the latter spun at Murray's giving Adam Bint the lead heading into lap two. Meanwhile, Simon Reid led the Division One machines, with David Jenkins making the most of the initial corners to lead into the second tour, with a useful gap to his title rivals as he chased down the Division Two trucks.

Richard Collett, Steve Thomas and Ray Coleman headed the Division One group chasing Reid for second in class, and this left Stuart Oliver, Mat Summerfield and Ryan Smith mired in the midfield at this early stage.

As Jenkins closed in on the Division Two backmarkers, Steven Powell claimed the lead of the race, and as with race one, lost no time in stretching his advantage, as Bint tried to hold Luke Garrett at bay.

As the race headed towards its conclusion, Oliver and Summerfield gained places to fourth and sixth in class respectively, as leader Jenkins passed Powell to head the field. The Division Two machine was then swallowed up by the pack as he slowed, and it was clear that he wasn't getting out of the way as Bint and Garrett passed to dispute the category lead.

Oliver tried to take a place from Collett at Murray's on the penultimate lap, but the pair tangled, and lost several places in the process. Meanwhile Bint ran wide at Palmer on the final tour, handing Garrett the class win.

The order at the flag behind Jenkins was Reid, Thomas, Summerfield, Collett, Oliver, Coleman, Smith, Shane Brereton and Oly Janes, with Division Two winner Garrett 11th overall.

The drivers will take part in three races tomorrow, at 10:30am, 1:20pm and 4:35pm. There will be a VIP-style grid walk open to everyone before the second race. The day will also includes ten support races from saloons, single-seaters and sportscars, plus a host of off-track entertainment including monster truck rides, fairground rides and bouncy castles, showtruck display and an aerobatic display at 3:30pm.

British Truck Racing Championship Race Two
1, David Jenkins, Team Digraph, MAN TGX, 7 Laps
2, Simon Reid, Reid Trucksport, MAN TGX, +11.856s
3, Steve Thomas, Team Thomas Racing, MAN TGX, +14.397s
4, Matt Summerfield, Summerfield Trucksport, MAN TGS, +17.336s
5, Richard Collett, MAN TGX, +20.659s
6, Stuart Oliver, Team Oliver Racing, Volvo RH 13, +22.350s
7, Ray Coleman, Lantern, Renault, +25.757s
8, Ryan Smith, Truck Sport Racing, MAN TGA, +25.972s
9, Shane Brereton, Scania, Div 1, +29.741s
10, Oly Janes, Janestrucksport with Briarwood, Freightliner MKR 08, +34.061s

Raceday tickets for the British Truck Racing Championship at Snetterton on Sunday 20 September are available on the gate for £23 to adults and £12 to 13-15 year-olds, with free admission for under-13s. For more information call 0843 453 9000 or click here.