• YoungDrive at Snetterton
  • MSV Trackdays
Brookes annihilates record to set the fastest ever lap of Snetterton

Wednesday, May 27 2015

Milwaukee Yamaha's Josh Brookes proved he still had more in reserve for the final session of the MCE Insurance British Superbike Championship official test at Snetterton, by becoming the first rider to dip into the 1m:46s lap time on the Snetterton 300 circuit.

Brookes had set the fastest recorded time at the circuit earlier in the day, but in the afternoon with some final changes to his Milwaukee Yamaha, the Australian upped the ante. As the last ten minutes of the session counted down he again slashed more time off his lap to set a time 0.590s faster than John Hopkins' qualifying time from 2011.

Brookes had only briefly been moved from the top in the final 20 minutes as James Ellison had a moment at the top of the times, but it was a short spell as his Milwaukee Yamaha rival went back to the top spot just a handful of laps later.

Ellison and Shane 'Shakey' Byrne were then wrestling for the second position on the times in the final session with the pair trading the position several times in the closing minutes as they bid for their best lap time of the test. Byrne eventually held the advantage over the JG Speedfit Kawasaki rider, but only by 0.018s at the chequered flag.

Jakub Smrz was another rider to improve his time and the Moto Rapido Ducati rider closed down the leading trio in the final minutes as the pace intensified. The final session also saw the second Milwaukee Yamaha of Broc Parkes take a leap up the timesheets as the Australian contender held fifth place ahead of fellow countryman Jason O'Halloran for Honda Racing.

Chris Walker was seventh fastest for the Be Wiser Kawasaki team as the 'Stalker' set his best lap of the test to move back ahead of Stuart Easton on the second of the PBM Kawasakis. Danny Buchan on the Be Wiser Kawasaki and Christian Iddon completed the top ten for Bennetts Suzuki.

MCE Insurance British Superbike Championship, Snetterton official test, combined times:
1.Josh Brookes (Milwaukee Yamaha) 1m:46.861s
2.Shane Byrne (PBM Kawasaki) +0.562s
3.James Ellison (JG Speedfit Kawasaki) +0.580s
4.Jakub Smrz (Moto Rapido Ducati) +0.644s
5.Broc Parkes (Milwaukee Yamaha) +1.115s
6.Jason O'Halloran (Honda Racing) +1.174s
7.Chris Walker (Be Wiser Kawasaki) +1.796s
8.Stuart Easton (PBM Kawasaki) +1.812s
9.Danny Buchan (Be Wiser Kawasaki) +1.875s
10.Christian Iddon (Bennetts Suzuki) +1.936s

The 2015 MCE Insurance British Superbike Championship returns to Snetterton in Norfolk on 19/20/21 June for round four.  For more information please click here.