• 2021 MSV Season Passes
  • MSV Trackdays
  • YoungDrive at Snetterton
Champion Turkington heads BMR 1-2-3 in BTCC Qualifying

Saturday, August 08 2015

Reigning Dunlop MSA British Touring Car Champion Colin Turkington has taken pole position for tomorrow's (Sunday) opening race at Snetterton. He heads a Team BMR 1-2-3, with Aron Smith and Jason Plato all qualifying within a tenth of the Ulsterman.

Just as they did this morning, the Team BMR cars dominated the early running, with Smith and Plato topping the order, split by just three hundredths of a second. Behind them, Andrew Jordan, Matt Neal and Andy Priaulx were within a couple of tenths of the VW CCs as the session entered its final phase.

The next driver to improve was reigning champion Turkington, who had suffered a loose bonnet in the opening phase and came back to lead the session by four hundredths of a second. Further improvements did not come until the late moments, when Jack Goff began to climb the top ten, taking seventh place and then the fastest sector one time, before spoiling his lap at the end of the Bentley Straight. It was too late to try again, and he pitted.

Despite a few attempts, no-one else was able to improve after the flag had fallen, and this left Turkington to take his second pole position of the season, the first man to achieve more than one in the qualifying sessions held so far this year.

The champion led team-mates Smith and Plato, with Jordan fourth, heading Neal, Andy Priaulx, Goff, Sam Tordoff, Tom Ingram and Rob Collard. The top ten was covered by less than half a second, but missing from the list was championship leader Gordon Shedden, who was mired in 16th place after suffering a power steering failure, two places behind Mat Jackson, the highest-placed Motorbase car. Nic Hamilton qualified 26th for his second BTCC weekend.

Race one will take place at 12:02pm tomorrow.

Dunlop MSA British Touring Car Championship Qualifying
1, Colin Turkington, Team BMR, VW CC, 1:56.047s
2, Aron Smith, Team BMR, VW CC, +0.027s
3, Jason Plato, Team BMR, VW CC, +0.071s
4, Andrew Jordan, MG Racing, MG6 GT, +0.193s
5, Matt Neal, Honda Racing, Civic Type R, +0.196s
6, Andy Priaulx, WSR, BMW 125i M-Sport, +0.199s
7, Jack Goff, MG Racing, MG6 GT, +0.271s
8, Sam Tordoff, WSR, BMW 125i M-Sport, +0.320s
9, Tom Ingram, Speedworks, Toyota Avensis, +0.344s
10, Rob Collard, WSR, BMW 125i M-Sport, +0.452s

Click here for the full classification.

Raceday tickets for the Dunlop MSA British Touring Car Championship at Snetterton on 8/9 August are available on the gate for £32, with free entry for under-13s. For more information call 0843 453 9000 or click here.