• 2021 MSV Season Passes
  • MSV Trackdays
  • YoungDrive at Snetterton
Andrew Jordan shines in second BTCC practice at Snetterton

Saturday, August 08 2015

MG's Andrew Jordan topped the second practice session ahead of today's (Saturday) qualifying for the Dunlop MSA British Touring Car Championship's Snetterton rounds, heading a trio of BMR VW CCs, led by reigning champion Colin Turkington.

Session one pacesetter Andy Priaulx started second practice faster than the rest, as the rear-wheel-drive cars warmed their tyres on the track. Once the front-wheel-drive runners were ready, Jason Plato and Aron Smith topped the times before Priaulx struck back with a time just under three tenths off his morning best.

Smith then lowered the mark by another tenth, which seemed to settle the matter for a while. Behind the top three, Andrew Jordan headed Tom Ingram, Rob Collard and Matt Neal and then the red flag was shown with Aiden Moffat off in sector one.

The session got back underway after a short delay and with just 20 minutes remaining. The first half of this was relatively uneventful, aside from Neal improving to fifth, before attention turned to practice qualifying runs.

Plato was the first to improve, taking the quickest second sector time on his way to fastest overall, albeit just over half a tenth quicker than Priaulx's earlier benchmark. Dave Newsham then took a surprise fifth in the Power Maxed Chevrolet Cruze, with Aron Smith closing the gap to his BMR team-mate to just 1.5 tenths of a second.

Then the MGs posted their fastest laps, with Jack Goff moving up to fourth before Jordan topped the session. With the chequered flag now out, Turkington hustled his VW CC around the track, but was unable to topple Jordan, missing out by just two hundredths of a second.

Jordan's best time was just one tenth quicker than Priaulx's best of the morning, and with the top three once again within a tenth, the qualifying session, scheduled for 3:45pm, will be highly anticipated.

Dunlop MSA British Touring Car Championship Practice two
1, Andrew Jordan, MG Racing, MG6 GT, 1:56.543s
2, Colin Turkington, Team BMR, VW CC, +0.020s
3, Jason Plato, Team BMR, VW CC, +0.040s
4, Aron Smith, Team BMR, VW CC, +0.190s
5, Andy Priaulx, WSR, BMW 125i M-Sport, +0.362s
6, Jack Goff, MG Racing, MG6 GT, +0.411s
7, Tom Ingram, Speedworks, Toyota Avensis, +0.412s
8, Dave Newsham, Power Maxed Racing, Chevrolet Cruze, +0.487s
9, Rob Collard, WSR, BMW 125i M-Sport, +0.556s
10, Matt Neal, Honda Racing, Civic Type R, +0.608s

Click here for a full result.

Tickets for the Dunlop MSA British Touring Car Championship at Snetterton on 8/9 August are available on the gate for £14 on Saturday and £32 on Sunday, with free entry for under-13s. For more information call 0843 453 9000 or click here.