• 2020 MSV Season Passes
  • YoungDrive at Snetterton
  • MSV Trackdays
Weekend of champions lives up to billing

Monday, October 27 2014

Snetterton was the stage for end-of-season drama last weekend as the BRDC F4 season reached its conclusion, with a packed support bill of MSVR saloons, single-seaters and sports cars.

BRDC F4 crowned its second champion in George Russell, whose race three win secured an emotional title at his home circuit. He passed title rival and race two winner Raoul Hyman at Hamilton corner for the lead. Arjun Maini, who needed a podium to take the title, could only manage fifth in the final race of the year and finished the season three points adrift of Lanan Racing team-mate Russell.

Diego Menchaca won the first of the weekend's BRDC F4 races ahead of Charlie Eastwood and Sennan Fielding. Fielding and Eastwood returned to the podium on Sunday to join Hyman and Russell, Fielding picking up another third-place in race two with Hyman on top, while Eastwood took third in race three as Russell reigned.

The weekend's other championship decider, in the Toyo Tires Production BMW Championship, also went down to the wire. Stuart Waite claimed the first race win, his third on the trot, before Gary Feakins won race two after passing Waite in the closing stages. Waite's second-place was enough to deny season-long championship leader Harry Goodman the title, himself twice on the podium behind Waite and Feakins.

F3 Cup's title fight was already done and dusted, but Tristan Cliffe's two fourth-places sealed the Teams' Championship for Omicron Motorsport. Henry Chart scored his first win in 12 months in race one, and doubled his win haul for the season in race two. Alice Powell's return to the championship yielded two second-place finishes, while Louis Hamilton-Smith's brace of third-places secured third place in the overall championship.

Atom Cup's sophomore year ended with a change to the usual format, swapping a practice session for a third race. Martin James took advantage to win twice, with a combined winning margin over Andrew Smith and later Nick Whitehead of only three-tenths of a second. James' wins bookended a more comfortable fifth win of the year for Smith, some 4.5s-seconds clear of Whitehead and James. Nick Whitehead set a new lap record on the way to second-place in race three behind James and ahead of Smith, who visited every step of the rostrum.

The final races of the Toyo Tires Racing Saloons series were dominated by the Seldons: first Matt won, and later his father Peter took the flag first. Richard Evans completed both podiums to make it an all-E36 M3 top three.

The penultimate MSVT Trackday Trophy win of the year was claimed by Guy Pettit and Oliver Withington, the latter also setting fastest lap on his motorsport debut. The Abbitt cousins, Dan and Ben, took second, Paul Ivens third.

In the Team Trophy, Adam and Ben U'Ren made amends for their disappointment earlier in the year when they retired from the lead on the penultimate lap by taking the victory. James Reed and Richard Preece, winners three times in 2014, took second, with Darren Goes third.

MSVR returns to Snetterton this coming weekend with the conclusion of the Lotus season. Tickets cost £10 in advance, children under 13 get in free. Click here for more information.