• YoungDrive at Snetterton
  • MSV Trackdays
Palmer wins opening Snetterton F4 race after di Mauro penalty

Saturday, November 08 2014

Will Palmer claimed the first win of the 2014 BRDC F4 Winter Championship, despite finishing second on the road to Gaetano di Mauro.

Di Mauro led the majority of the race, but he made a false start from pole position and was quickly given a 10 second penalty.

Di Mauro lapped quickly enough to take second though, and still engaged in an entertaining battle with Palmer, the duo going side by side on the Senna Straight on several occasions.

Rodrigo Fonseca claimed his first F4 podium with third place, just holding off Connor Jupp while Harri Newey's late move secured him fifth ahead of Jordan Albert.

Zubair Hoque finished seventh for HHC Motorsport, while Fernando Urrutia completed the finishers despite being forced to pit after a tangle with Enzo Bortoleto, who retired on lap seven.

Pole sitter di Mauro was clearly creeping before the start, but made the best getaway at the start to lead on the run to Riches. Mectech Motorsport's Connor Jupp also made a good start and passed Palmer, although the HHC Motorsport driver made a move stick mid way around the opening lap. 

Di Mauro led by 2.2 seconds at the end of the first lap, but his position was wiped away when he was given a 10 second time penalty for his false start. That dropped him to sixth place on the time sheets, despite leading on the road.

Palmer set a string of fastest laps to close down the on road gap, and was constantly in the slipstream of the Brazilian driver, with the pair going wheel to wheel on lap seven.

The Brit knew di Mauro had a penalty though, and tucked in behind him for the remainder of the race, to take the win and the early initiative in the Winter Championship.

Di Mauro's lap times meant he was able to move ahead of the mid field runners on the time sheets, taking fifth on lap five, fourth on lap six, third on lap eight and finally second on lap nine.

Palmer's fastest lap of the race means he will start from pole position for race two, with di Mauro second and Newey third.

BRDC F4 Winter Championship, race one result:

1. Will Palmer, HHC Motorsport, 10 laps
2. Gaetano di Mauro, PetroBall Racing, +9.482s
3. Rodrigo Fonseca, Douglas Motorsport, +11.550s
4. Connor Jupp, Mectech Motorsport, +11.973s
5. Harri Newey, HHC Motorsport, +12.835s
6. Jordan Albert, SWR - Caterham F1, +17.277s
7. Zubair Hoque, HHC Motorsport, +37.285s
8. Fernando Urrutia, SWR - Caterham F1, +1m16.306s
DNF. Enzo Bortoleto, PetroBall Racing, 7 laps