• YoungDrive at Snetterton
  • MSV Trackdays
Jack Clarke switches focus to the BTCC with Crabbie's

Tuesday, March 04 2014

Single seater convert Jack Clarke will contest the 2014 Dunlop MSA British Touring Car Championship, driving a Motorbase Performance-prepared NGTC Ford Focus under the Crabbie's Racing banner. The championship kicks off at Brands Hatch on 29/30 March.

Clarke, a race winner in Formula Palmer Audi and the FIA Formula Two Championship, has also competed in GT categories including the World Endurance Championship, European Le Mans Series and Blancpain Endurance Series, plus NASCAR-sanctioned events in the US. In switching to the BTCC he follows in the footsteps of stepfather Julian Bailey, who raced for Toyota in the 1990s.

The 26-year-old from Surrey has already tested alongside new Motorbase signing Fabrizio Giovanardi at Brands Hatch and Snetterton, impressing the Wrotham-based team. The livery of his Focus will be revealed shortly before the season-opening race, with sponsor Crabbie's already involved in high-profile sporting events and teams including Golf, Football and Horse Racing's Grand National.

Clarke said: "I'm delighted to be joining the BTCC and I'm thankful to both Crabbie's and Motorbase for the opportunity. The BTCC continues to go from strength-to-strength, and I'm excited to be racing in Britain's premier championship.

"The calibre and quality of the field is very high and it'll be my first year in touring cars, so I'm under no illusions as to how tough it's going to be. Testing has gone very well and I obviously have confidence in my own ability, so I cannot wait to take on this exciting challenge with Crabbie's Racing."

Clarke's graduation means that the 2014 BTCC grid is almost full. It follows confirmation that reigning Jack Sears Trophy champion Lea Wood will upgrade to an NGTC Toyota with the family-run Houseman Racing Team.

Tickets for the 2014 rounds at Brands Hatch IndyOulton ParkSnetterton and Brands Hatch GP are now on sale from £26 and you can find out more and order them by clicking the links for each circuit. Money-saving season passes are also available. Click here for more details.