• YoungDrive at Snetterton
  • MSV Trackdays
Byrne blitzes lap record to snatch Snetterton pole from Brookes

Saturday, June 14 2014

Shane 'Shakey' Byrne shattered the lap record on his way to securing his second pole position of the MCE British Superbike Championship season at Snetterton as the Rapid Solicitors Kawasaki rider held off a hard-charging Josh Brookes in Datatag Extreme Qualifying.

Byrne and Brookes had topped a session each before Q3 to decide pole position, which became a shootout between the pair but the triple champion had the edge with a scintillating lap in the heat at Snetterton in a top ten featuring six different nationalities.

Brookes held second and in the final minute Jakub Smrz pushed his way to third, displacing Julien Da Costa to score the Millsport Ducati team a first front row start for the Panigale and the Italian manufacturer's first front row start since 2011.

Da Costa gave Honda Racing a second row start on their return to the Championship as he moved ahead on his final lap of Tommy Bridewell on the second of the Milwaukee Yamahas. James Ellison was the leading Lloyds British GBmoto Racing Kawasaki in sixth after Chris Walker missed out on the top ten with Patric Muff in seventh following his best qualifying performance of the season so far.

Ryuichi Kiyonari was eighth fastest as he moved ahead of his Buildbase BMW team-mate James Westmoreland with Keith Farmer completing the top ten after a crash on his first flying lap. The leading Tyco Suzuki was John Hopkins who missed out on the top ten in twelfth place following a clutch problem.

MCE Insurance British Superbike Championship, Snetterton, Datatag Extreme Qualifying result:

  1. Shane Byrne (Rapid Solicitors Kawasaki) 1m:47.488s
  2. Josh Brookes (Milwaukee Yamaha) +0.486s
  3. Jakub Smrz (Millsport Ducati) +0.506s
  4. Julien Da Costa (Honda Racing UK) +0.583s
  5. Tommy Bridewell (Milwaukee Yamaha) +0.591s
  6. James Ellison (Lloyds British GBmoto Racing Kawasaki) +0.849s
  7. Patric Muff (Bathams BMW) +0.912s
  8. Ryuichi Kiyonari (Buildbase BMW) +1.353s
  9. James Westmoreland (Buildbase BMW) +1.636s
  10. Keith Farmer (PR Racing Kawasaki)