• YoungDrive at Snetterton
  • MSV Trackdays
Cook leaves it late to take F4 race three pole at sunny Snetterton

Sunday, November 10 2013

Jake Cook has secured pole position for F4 Race Three in an exciting second qualifying session at Snetterton this morning (Sunday). Sennan Fielding completes the front row with the second quickest time, with yesterday's double race winner Matty Graham third for Douglas Motorsport. Will Palmer was fourth quickest ahead of Pietro Fittipaldi and Falco Wauer.

Held under clear skies, the track surface remained wet and all the runners opted for wet tyres. Lap times changed with great regularity, and it was only right at the end when pole was decided as track conditions improved quickly.

For the majority of the session, the battle for pole was contested between Cook, Fielding, and Fittipaldi, with each heading the time sheets on at least one occasion during the qualifying period.

Initial lap times were in the 2m33s bracket, but quickly tumbled, with Cook's pole position time being over 16 seconds quicker than the opening efforts.

With conditions constantly improving, the final driver to cross the line had the biggest advantage. Palmer briefly appeared to have taken pole, topping the times with 30 seconds remaining, but as the chequered flag fell, first Fielding and then Cook went to the top, with the Yorkshireman securing the honours in his first F4 weekend.

"That was better than yesterday!" Cook enthused afterwards. "It was tough yesterday but we've picked ourselves up and I kept going quicker and quicker and I knew it was going to be a last lap effort. It was a good lap and I was catching Matty Graham, I knew I must have been quick as he was so fast yesterday, and it's great to be on pole."

Race three starts at 11.40am, with full updates available on the official F4 website.

BRDC F4 Winter Championship, Snetterton 300, Qualifying result:

1. Jake Cook, Hillspeed, 2m16.853s
2. Sennan Fielding, HHC Motorsport, +0.718s
3. Matty Graham, Douglas Motorsport, +1.014s
4. Will Palmer, HHC Motorsport, +1.022s
5. Pietro Fittipaldi, Mark Godwin Racing, +1.656s
6. Falco Wauer, Enigma Motorsport, +3.777s
7. Matteo Ferrer, Mark Godwin Racing, +4.139s
8. Dimitris Papanastasiou, Hillspeed, +5.286s
9. Fredrik Johansen, Chris Dittmann Racing, +7.301s