• YoungDrive at Snetterton
  • MSV Trackdays
Big entry expected for British GT’s Snetterton visit

Wednesday, June 12 2013

Over 30 cars have been entered for this weekend's (15/16 June) Avon Tyres British GT Championship round on the Snetterton 300 circuit as the title race reaches its halfway point. Four different crews have tasted the victory champagne in the four races leading up to the Norfolk visit and this event is expected to be no different.

Leading the standings is the Ecurie Ecosse BMW Z4 of Oliver Bryant and Marco Attard after the pairing won at Silverstone last time out. They head the Trackspeed crews of Nick Tandy/David Ashburn and Richard Westbrook/Gregor Fisken, with the United Autosports Audi crew of Matt Bell and Mark Patterson sandwiched between the Porsches in third place.

However the entry list contains a number of driver and car combinations that could end up winning one of the two 60-minute races taking place this weekend. This includes the United Autosports McLaren MP4-12Cs, one of which took its maiden win at Snetterton last year.

The Beechdean Aston Martin of Andrew Howard and Jonny Adam is another favourite for honours, whilst reigning champion Michael Caine from nearby Newmarket and Motorbase team mate Ahmad Al Harthy cannot be discounted either. Both crews are well-placed in the championship's top ten, as is Fortec Mercedes SLS driver Benji Hetherington and M-Sport Audi pairing Warren Hughes and Rembert Berg.

Several teams are entering Ferrari's 458, a car that has taken many wins in the championship. Also represented is Leeds' Ginetta, in both GT3 and GT4 categories. The latter class is almost exclusively fought out between the G50s, with Zoe Wenham and Declan Jones leading the category from Ryan Ratcliffe and Rick Parfitt Jnr, son of the legendary Status Quo guitarist.

Qualifying takes place from 15:50 on Saturday, with a session for each of Sunday's races, the first of which starts at 10:45. Support race action comes from the BRDC Formula 4 Championship, Ginetta GT5 Challenge, VW Racing Cup, V.A.G Trophy and Mk2 Golf GTi Championship. A full timetable can be downloaded by clicking here.

Avon Tyres British GT Championship entry list
1, Oman Air Motorbase, Ahmad Al Harthy & Michael Caine, Porsche 997, GT3
6, PGF - Kinfaun AMR, John Gaw & Phil Dryburgh, Aston Martin Vantage, GT3
007, Beechdean AMR, Andrew Howard & Jonny Adam, Aston Martin Vantage, GT3
8, 888 Optimum Racing, Lee Mowle & Joe Osborne, BMW Z4, GT3
9, VonRyan Racing, Gregoire Demoustier & Duncan Tappy, McLaren MP412C, GT3
10, M-Sport Racing, Rembert Berg & Warren Hughes, Audi R8 LMS Ultra, GT3
11, PE Group Blendini Motor, Dom Evans & Tom Roche, Audi R8 LMS, GT3
13, AF Corse, John Dhillon & Aaron Scott, Ferrari 458 Italia, GT3
14, Fortec Motorsports, Benji Hetherington & Jason Minshaw, Mercedes AMG SLS, GT3
15, Fortec Motorsports, Drivers TBA Mercedes, AMG SLS, GT3
16, Team LNT, Richard Sykes & Mike Simpson, G55 Ginetta, GT3
18, FF Corse, Gary Eastwood & Rob Barff, Ferrari 458 Italia, GT3
22, Preci-Spark, David Jones & Godfrey Jones, McLaren MP412C, GT3
23, United Autosports, Zak Brown & Alvaro Parente, McLaren MP412C, GT3
24, United Autosports, Jody Firth & Glynn Geddie, McLaren MP412C, GT3
25, United Autosports, Mark Patterson & Matt Bell, Audi R8 LMS Ultra, GT3
31, Trackspeed, David Ashburn & Nick Tandy, Porsche 997, GT3
32, Trackspeed, Gregor Fisken & Stephen Jelley, Porsche 997, GT3
33, Trackspeed, Jon Minshaw & Phil Keen, Porsche 997, GT3
40, CWS 4 x 4 Spares, Tom Sharp & Colin White, Ginetta G55, GT3
41, Mtech, Derek Johnston & Jake Rattenbury, Ferrari 458 Italia, GT3
43, Century Motorsport, Declan Jones & Zoe Wenham, Ginetta G50, GT4
44, Optimum Motorsport, Rick Parfitt Jnr & Ryan Ratcliffe, Ginetta G50, GT4
45, Blendini Motorsport, Rory Bryant & Anthony Rodgers, Ginetta G50, GT4
50, Redgate Lifetime Racing, Matt Smith & Dan Eagling, Ginetta G50, GT4
53, Complete Racing, Steven Chaplin & Tom Wilson, Aston Martin, GT4
69, APO Sport, Alex Osborne & James May, Ginetta G50, GT4
78, Barwell Motorsport, Piers Johnson & Ron Johnson, BMW Z4, GT3
79, Ecurie Ecosse, Marco Attard & Oliver Bryant, BMW Z4, GT3
80, Barwell Motorsport, Mark Poole & Richard Abra, Aston Martin Vantage, GT3
888, 888 Optimum Racing, Steve Tandy & Dan Brown, BMW Z4, GT3

Tickets for the Avon Tyres British GT Championship at Snetterton are available on the gate from £13, with free entry for children aged 12 and under. For more information call 0843 453 9000 or click here.