• YoungDrive at Snetterton
  • MSV Trackdays
Fletcher takes maiden BRDC F4 race win

Saturday, June 15 2013

James Fletcher has taken his and Team KBS' maiden win in the BRDC F4 Championship, after fending off a late challenge from HHC Motorsport's Charlie Robertson in today's (Saturday) first race of the weekend at Snetterton.

Seb Morris claimed third for Hillspeed while a hard charging Raoul Hyman took fourth for HHC. Diego Menchaca had a fantastic race for Mark Godwin Racing, claiming fifth from 11th on the grid, ahead of Brazilian team mate Pietro Fittipaldi. Falco Wauer secured seventh place for Team KBS ahead of Douglas Motorsport's Sennan Fielding, who claims pole position for the weekend's second race in the process. 

There was drama from the off as pole sitter and previous championship leader Jake Dalton was unable to get away from the grid after suffering a drive shaft failure. Fortunately the remaining 21 drivers were able to successfully avoid the MGR driver, as Fletcher moved into the lead into turn one.

Matt Bell, from third on the grid was up to second and challenging Fletcher for the lead in the early stages, getting into his slipstream down the Senna straight on both the opening two laps.

However an off track excursion for Bell dropped him down to fourth on lap three, and then contact with Gustavo Lima coming into Brundle moments later, dropped him down to eighth, and into a fight for the race two pole position with Sennan Fielding.

The moment for Bell promoted Morris and Robertson into the podium positions. Robertson was swarming all over the back of Morris, and after several attempts to pass, duly made his move into second place on lap five. Robertson then set about closing down the gap to Fletcher ahead, which was initially over three seconds.

Within three laps the gap was down to 1.6s, but Fletcher had enough left in his pocket to stretch the lead to over two seconds by the end of the race.

There were starring roles from Hillspeed's Struan Moore who claimed 10th place from 17th on the grid, while Lanan Racing's Jake Hughes claimed 11th, charging through the field from 22nd on the grid.

Perhaps the move of the race came from Pietro Fittipaldi, who passed Falco Wauer for sixth place around the outside of the daunting Riches corner on lap eight.

The result means Robertson has taken the championship lead, nine points ahead of Dalton with Bell still in third place. Seb Morris is up to fourth for Hillspeed, ahead of SWR's Matthew Graham and Jack Barlow. Jake Hughes now stands seventh for Lanan Racing.  With his race win today, Fletcher moves up to eighth in the championship, despite missing the opening three rounds at Silverstone.


After the race it was revealed that Diego Menchaca's car was been found to be underweight at post race scrutineering. As a result he loses the fifth place finish he earned in race one. A revised result is shown below.

As a consequence this also means that the pole sitter for race two has changed. Matt Bell will now start on pole position having originally finished ninth, and is promoted to eighth as a result of Menchaca's disqualification. Sennan Fielding, who was originally named as pole sitter for race two will now start from second on the grid.

BRDC Formula 4 Championship race one result, Snetterton 300 (revised result)

1. James Fletcher, Team KBS, 10 laps
2. Charlie Robertson, HHC Motorsport, +2.085s
3. Seb Morris, Hillspeed, +4.878s
4. Raoul Hyman, HHC Motorsport, +7.532s
5. Pietro Fittipaldi, Mark Godwin Racing, +14.144s
6. Falco Wauer, Team KBS, +14.958s
7. Sennan Fielding, Douglas Motorsport, +16.520s
8. Matt Bell, MattRBell Racing Team E-Lites, +18.337s
9. Struan Moore, Hillspeed, +18.406s
10. Jake Hughes, Lanan Racing, +19.799s

To view the full result click here.