• 2020 MSV Season Passes
  • YoungDrive at Snetterton
  • MSV Trackdays
Mature Tordoff breaks into the BTCC winners' circle

Sunday, August 04 2013

Sam Tordoff has followed up his first Dunlop MSA British Touring Car Championship win ahead of team mate Jason Plato at Snetterton today (Sunday). Championship contenders Gordon Shedden, Colin Turkington and Andrew Jordan took the next three places, with Matt Neal only able to take ninth place.

Tordoff made a good start and Plato slotted in to protect his team mate from Shedden and a soft-tyred Turkington, whilst Jordan and Smith disputed fifth place. Further back Dan Welch was the victim in a three-way squabble with Matt Neal and Rob Collard. Also in the wars was Will Bratt, who was obliged to pit when his bonnet flew up, blocking his view of the proceedings.

Tordoff managed to hold station with Plato and Shedden following throughout the early laps, whilst Turkington and Jordan completed the top five. A few places behind them Matt Neal was working his way up from an unpromising starting place and having despatched with Rob Austin and Mat Jackson, cued up Jack Goff for eighth place. A lunge at Montreal on lap six was perfectly executed but he now had a two second gap to Adam Morgan, lapping behind Aron Smith's repaired Focus.

By half distance Shedden's Honda started to come alive and as he began to occupy Plato's time, Tordoff was given vital breathing space. Turkington also latched onto the battle for second, and gave Shedden added resolve to split the MGs. Meanwhile Shedden's team mate was now coming under attack from Jackson's Focus, which nipped by on the Bentley Straight on lap ten.

As the race reached its conclusion, Tordoff held a useful gap over Plato, who held off Shedden, Turkington and Jordan to the flag. Aron Smith and Adam Morgan were safe from Jackson and Neal, with Rob Collard taking tenth place away from Jack Goff.

Lea Wood took the Jack Sears Trophy honours from David Nye. Race two will take place at 14:35.

Dunlop MSA British Touring Car Championship race one
1, Sam Tordoff, MG KX Momentum Racing, MG6, 12 Laps
2, Jason Plato, MG KX Momentum Racing, MG6, +2.514s
3, Gordon Shedden, Honda Yuasa Racing, Honda Civic, +3.564s
4, Colin Turkington, eBay Motors, BMW 125i M Sport, +3.829s
5, Andrew Jordan, Pirtek Racing, Honda Civic, +4.313s
6, Aron Smith, Airwaves Racing, Ford Focus, +8.908s
7, Adam Morgan, Ciceley Racing, Toyota Avensis, +10.845s
8, Mat Jackson, Airwaves Racing, Ford Focus, +14.590s
9, Matt Neal, Honda Yuasa Racing, Honda Civic, +16.005s
10, Rob Collard, eBay Motors, BMW 125i M Sport, +16.569s

Tickets for the Dunlop MSA British Touring Car Championship at Snetterton on 3/4 August are available on the gate for £31, with free entry for children aged 12 and under. For more information call 0843 453 9000 or click here.