• YoungDrive at Snetterton
  • MSV Trackdays
Plato converts pole to first ever Snetterton 300 BTCC win

Sunday, August 07 2011

Jason Plato has won the first Dunlop MSA British Touring Car Championship race on the new Snetterton 300 circuit. The Silverline driver led from start to finish, his first win since race two at Oulton Park, and Alex MacDowall completed a Chevrolet 1-2.

Plato made a fine getaway from the lights, but Gordon Shedden was not so quick from second and his team mate took the opportunity to run round the outside into Riches. However Neal then spun to the inside, before facing the rest of the pack and it was a miracle that he was not struck by another car. Dropping to last place, he then spent the rest of the race just catching the field, eventually finishing eighteenth.

Meanwhile Tom Chilton and Frank Wrathall made quick work of James Nash and the Toyota, running extremely well here, closed on the AON Ford. Threatening for several laps, the matter was settled when Chilton ran wide at Riches, handing the place to Wrathall.

At this mid-point the leaders had eked out a small gap on fourth place and whilst Shedden was paying close attention to MacDowall's rear bumper, he was unable to make an impression on the Chevrolets, and crucially Plato was scampering away.

With Chilton and Nash running relatively alone in the late stages, Paul O'Neill attempted a move on Mat Jackson, the Ford driver keen to make up points on Neal's misfortune. Attention was focussed on this battle in the closing laps, but behind them Tom Onslow-Cole took ninth place from Dave Newsham.

Jackson was having to defend everywhere from O'Neill, the Tech-Speed Chevrolet all over him. Whilst the Turbo Ford had a small advantage on the Senna Straight, O'Neill had the legs on the infield. O'Neill tried a wide line onto the Bentley Straight but Jackson held the initiative through Brundle, Nelson and the Bombhole. With O'Neill unable to make an impression through Coram, the pair passed Chilton, who fell back to ninth on the final tour, behind his team mate.

Dunlop MSA British Touring Car Championship Race One

1. Jason Plato, Silverline, Chevrolet, 12 Laps
2. Alex MacDowall, Silverline, Chevrolet, +2.242s
3. Gordon Shedden, Honda, +3.419s
4. Frank Wrathall, Dynojet, Toyota, +10.113s
5. James Nash, Triple 8, Vauxhall, +15.397s
6. Mat Jackson, Airwaves, Ford, +18.928s
7. Paul O'Neill, Tech-Speed, Chevrolet, +19.196s
8. Tom Onslow-Cole, AON, Ford, +24.102s
9. Tom Chilton, AON, Ford, +26.035s
10. Dave Newsham, Special Tuning, SEAT, +26.884s

Raceday tickets for the Dunlop MSA British Touring car Championship at Snetterton are still available on the gate for £30, with free entry for children aged 12 and under. For more information, click the link below.

 Click here for further information